Posts

Showing posts from January, 2016

Book Review: The Night Children

Image
Book: The Night Children

Author:  Sarah Tsiang

Illustrator: Sami Suomalainen

Source: Netgalley

Genre: Picture Book



Summary from Amazon: What happens when the sun goes down at the end of the day? When the streets are empty and kids are called home for dinner and put to bed, the world becomes a magical place. It’s only then that the night children emerge from the shadows, ready to play. In this evocative and lyrical picture book, it is the night children who rule, taking over the world that the day children have left behind. The mischievous night children frolic in the twilight, rummaging for treasures and scattering surprises, stealing slices of the moon and dancing on rooftops. Only when dawn breaks do they tuck themselves away. But if you look very closely, you might just catch a glimpse of them disappearing as you wake up. Were the night children ever really there, or did you dream them? Complemented by beautiful, glowing artwork, this poetic story about the allure of a world unknow…

Death To the Undead Cover Reveal

Image
Today I will be sharing a new cover reveal in partnership with Xpresso Book Tours. Enjoy.




Death to the Undead
Pembroke Sinclair
(Life After the Undead, #2)
Publication date: February 16th 2016
Genres: Post-Apocalyptic, Young Adult, Zombies
The battle that began in Life After the Undead continues.
Zombies changed her life completely…
Tough teenager Krista escaped to the safety of Florida after her parents were killed by the zombie horde. She united with General Liet, a distant cousin, and moved with him to North Platte to help build a wall to keep the zombies in the West. Krista fell in love with Quinn, a survivor and fighter from the zombie-infested wildlands of the West, and together they freed the garrison at North Platte from the power-hungry Liet.
But zombies aren’t the only enemy they have to face…
Now, North Platte is free, but Liet was not the only one using the zombie apocalypse to control their people. Florida is ruled by five ruthless Families, who use intimidation and the threa…

The Undead Road Tour

Image
Sorry folks no MishMash today but...

This week will be the start of The Undead Road Tour for David Powers King’s zombie novel. The ebook is on sale Jan 25-29th for .99 cents in the Kindle store. David has had a rough patch with recent unemployment but is still powering through with his new book and second novel (Woven was his first and co-written) along with seeking another job. As we all know writing is a tough biz and not always enough to pay the bills. So read on to find out more about this exciting book and about the awesome novelist. If you can buy a copy it would be appreciated but either way at the very least read through, leave a comment and share on social media to spread the word.



Title: The Undead Road: My Zombie Summer: Part One Publisher: Dashboard Books / CreateSpace Ebook Release: January 2st, 2016 Paperback: January 26th, 2016 Cover by Steven Novak Edited by Reece Hanzon

Blurb:

Nothing brings the family together like a zombie apocalypse …

Fifteen-year-old Jeremy Barnes would ra…

Cover Reveal: Clara's Return

Image
Happy Friday everyone. Today I am back on the tour circuit helping fellow authors in the writing community promote their work. Today with the lovely help of Xpresso Book Tours I will be revealing the cover of an upcoming New Adult Novel. So peek on down below for the beauty and mystery that is Clara's Return.




Clara’s Return
Suzanna J. Linton
Publication date: May 13th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, New Adult
Clara, lost and disillusioned from a hard-fought war, hopes to discover some answers about her lineage and abilities in the quiet village of Bluebell, where she once lived before being sold into slavery. However, as she and the Captain of the Royal Guard make their journey, a new threat to the kingdom arises in the form of a traitor.
This new threat has been patiently brewing since the fall of the sorceror-king Marduk and careful plans are now coming to fruition. Emmerich’s struggles with his new role as king and his ever-present nightmares leave him feeling inadequate to the task. Wha…

Solo: A Song Parody by Me and Zack (the singer)

Image
Yes folks I have expanded into the parody department.



No, don't turn away. Stop running this is good stuff I swear. While I am no Weird Al Yankovich (huge fan) I have written some lyrics of my own. Mostly original stuff and no I can't sing a note or put my lyrics to music.



Which is where freelancers come in. Let me introduce you to Zack David.


Zack David is a singer/songwriter with a fiverr page, zachdavidmusic. While he had a good page it was his video that really turned me to him. What can I say, he came off as an honest earnest guy willing to do the work and handled his vocals and guitar. So I decided to contact him and ordered a sample for the first minute. Boy did he deliver and early too. I intend to order the rest of the song in February (I live on a budget people and gotta save for the necessities) and would recommend him to anyone. As a freelancer myself we got to look out for each other.
Now back to the lyrics. I wrote them as a parody to Hello by Adele. I started in…

Monday MishMash: Week Two

Image
Monday Mishmash is a weekly meme sharing your thoughts and happenings. You just grab a button and create your post. Sure I guess I write it differently from most but moving on....

1. I am pretty much dealing with freelance work right now. Put my own righting on the back burner a bit but I will be getting back on schedule as of today.

2. Started reading Perfected by Kate Jarvick Birch. I am enjoying this book so far and love when an author not only gives you a good MC but also awesome secondary characters.

3. Ordered two hardbacks last week and will order at least two to three more next month. Not from this week but I just love hardbacks. Will probably order a paperback this week.

4. Hoping this week there will be a free pass contest to the movies. Come on Wednesday, bring it.

5. Watched the rest of Dragons Race to the Edge: Season Two and that there is a new big bad in their mist. 5 Stars DreamWorks Animation and thanks for streaming it Netflix.

Well that's it for my second week of Mond…

Book Review: The D'Evil Diaries by Tatum Flynn

Image
Book: The D'Evil Diaries by Tatum Flynn, Illustrations by David Shephard

Source: Purchased paperback at The Book Depository

Genre: MG



Summary (on Book Depository): A hilarious, crackling, original debut about an unlucky demon, perfect for fans of Derek Landy and Eoin Colfer. Twelve-year-old Jinx is hopeless at being evil. Which is a bit of a problem when you're Lucifer's youngest son. But when Jinx runs away from Pandemonium, the walled city he's lived in all his life, he bumps into dead girl Tommy - who's been sent to Hell for accidentally feeding her nasty uncle to a circus lion - and unearths a conspiracy that could up-end the entire underworld. Cue shenanigans involving carnivorous carousel horses, death-trap-riddled libraries and hungry quicksand. Now the fate of the realm rests in the hands of its most unlikely demon and a girl who shouldn't be in Hell at all...

In a year of many books left unfinished (thanks a lot 2015) D'Evil Diaries was a book I co…

Waiting on Wednesday: The Curiosity House

Image
Waiting on Wednesday is held weekly by Breaking the Spine. This event spotlights upcoming releases bloggers are excited about. So without further ado here is my pick.



Book: Curiosity House: The Shrunken Head by Lauren Oliver and H.C. Chester

Release Date: May 3, 2016

Summary: The book is about, among other things: the strongest boy in the world, a talking cockatoo, a faulty mind reader, a beautiful bearded lady and a nervous magician, an old museum, and a shrunken head. Blessed with extraordinary abilities, orphans Philippa, Sam, and Thomas have grown up happily in Dumfrey’s Dime Museum of Freaks, Oddities, and Wonders. But when a fourth child, Max, a knife-thrower, joins the group, it sets off an unforgettable chain of events. When the museum’s Amazonian shrunken head is stolen, the four are determined to get it back. But their search leads them to a series of murders and an explosive secret about their pasts. This sensational new series combines the unparalleled storytelling gifts of L…

Monday Mishmash: First Timer!

Image
Hi this is my first time taking part in Monday Mishmash a weekly meme sharing your thoughts and happenings. You just grab a button and create your post. Sure I guess I write it differently from most but moving on....

1. Over the weekend I started doing a fan movie sketch for a Fantastic Four reboot. I know that sounds crazy or silly but I truly believe that this movie can be done right. All I will say right now is that my version has Fantastic 4 facing The Skrulls and Dr. Doom becomes a bit of an anti-hero but not so much so that it eliminates his villainous personality. More is coming but I am thinking of trying to pitch this thing through fan sites to see if I can get some creative juices pumping over at Fox. Seriously they need to get a hit, I mean Ant-Man made it. ANT-MAN! No, I don't care that it's a Marvel property, if Ant-Man can make it so can Fantastic Four with the right movie. There.


Oh and I shot the origin story in the head. None of that for half my fan movie. Ti…

IWSG: 2016 and Waiting on Wednesday

Image
Happy 2016 everyone and welcome to another IWSG. I can happily say my insecurities still involve writing and health. Why am I happy? Because I know it could be worse. I could be crippled by my insecurities and personal issues but I am not. There are also no new epic disasters to report and that is always good. So I thank God for protecting me and wish you all a great day.







Waiting on Wednesday is held weekly by Breaking the Spine. This event spotlights upcoming releases bloggers are excited about. So without further ado here is my pick.




Book: The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine

Release Date: March 3, 2016

Summary: Lorelai, crown princess and fugitive-at-large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. She'll have to be stronger, faster and master more magical power than Irina, the most dangerous sorceress Ravenspire has ever seen. When the queen's huntsman - a dragon-shifting king - tracks down Lorelai, sparks fly betwee…